A password will be e-mailed to you.
Xavier Soquet


April 28th, 2019

Yesterday was race day in Paris for Formula E, and what a race it was !

The Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY support series got the ball rolling. After qualifying in the morning which saw Bryan Sellers taking the pole, the American driver won an hectic race full of great battles and heavy rain appearance.

Formula E had two practice sessions in the morning. The first one saw André Lotterer at the top of the timesheet, that was the turn of Evans in the second one.

During qualifying, Pascal Wehrlein (Mahindra Racing) took the pole in the Super Pole in front of the two Nissan drivers Oliver Rowland and Sébastien Buemi. Eventually, Wehrlein started the race in 22nd position behind his team mate Jérôme D’Ambrosio, the two Mahindra cars being disqualified after “non-respect of the minimum tyre pressure”. Robin Frijns took the third place on the grid.

After some time spent in the E-Village for the drivers as there were an autograph session and the E-Race, the real action was coming next…

We saw an 8th race winner this season. The E-Prix started under safety car because of one side of the track still being wet. It was full of amazing battles, crashes and drifting because of an heavy rain which made its appearance making things more complicated. After an early crash from Rowland, Frijns overtook Buemi which got a puncture and kept leading the race from this moment. Four full course yellows appeared during the race due to the weather generating many crashes. In these extremely difficult conditions, Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing) kept is head down and did a perfect race. Til the end, he had damages on the front of his car but fortunately, managed to bring it home. André Lotterer (DS Techeetah) finished second in front of Daniel Abt (Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler). Last year’s winner Jean-Eric Vergne finished 6th for his home race. The race ended up under the sun but on a wet track.

Robin Frijns leaves Paris at the top of the drivers’ championship, one point ahead of Lotterer. Previous championship leader Jérôme D’Ambrosio is now 5th in the championship.

No more articles