By in


on February 4th, 2015

Reigning champion Marc Marquez recorded the best lap time of the day at the first official MotoGP test for 2015, held at the Sepang Circuit in Malaysia.

The thirty riders got on to the track to represent the full official grid for the 2015 MotoGP World Championship. Marquez who had the best lap time of the day, clocking out at 2’00’262 was ahead of the Yamahas of Valentino Rossi (2’00.380) and Jorge Lorenzo as the trio completed the fastest three for day one of the test session.

While Marquez emerged at the top, things weren’t quite as straightforward for teammate Dani Pedrosa, who crashed out at turn nine, thankfully coming out unhurt. He was 0.483 seconds behind and secured fifth position.

The Honda Team garage was a mix compilation of their 2014 race machines as well as the 2015 prototypes of the RC213V as the riders rode both the bikes to compare the differences, helping them fine tune the new machines.

Ducati riders Andrea Dovizioso and teammate Andrea Lannone missed their 2014 Desmosedici GP15 machine and had to do with the 2014’s updated machine, dubbed the GP14.3. Their actual GP15 machines are set to arrive before the seconds practice session at Sepang, later in the month. With the GP14.3 machine, Dovizioso posted an impressive lap time of 2’00.617, coming out at fourth position, almost 2 seconds faster than the same test, last year. Lannone, finished the day’s practice at seventh position.

Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro who was suffering from a knee ligament injury had a moment where he ran off-track, but quickly regained control and was back on the racing surface, finished in fourteenth position, just 2 seconds behind the day’s leader Marquez. While his teammate, Maverick Vinales finish down at twenty first position, a second behind Espargaro.

Rider                               Team                                    Best Time

1                      MARQUEZ, Marc        Repsol Honda Team                         2:00.262

2                      ROSSI, Valentino        Movistar Yamaha MotoGP             2:00.380

3                      LORENZO, Jorge         Movistar Yamaha MotoGP            2:00.521

4                      DOVIZIOSO, Andrea  Ducati Team                                      2:00.617

5                      PEDROSA, Dani          Repsol Honda Team                        2:00.745

6                      ESPARGARO, Pol        Monster Yamaha Tech 3                2:00.930

7                      IANNONE, Andrea     Ducati Team                                      2:01.424

8                      BRADL, Stefan            Forward Racing Team                     2:01.556

9                      SMITH, Bradley         Monster Yamaha Tech 3                  2:01.707

10                   CRUTCHLOW, Cal      CWM LCR Honda                            2:01.713

11                   REDDING, Scott          Estrella Galicia 0.0 Marc VDS       2:01.917

12                   PIRRO, Michele          Pramac Racing                                   2:01.951

13                   PETRUCCI, Danilo     Pramac Racing                                   2:02.136

14                   ESPARGARO, Aleix     Team Suzuki MotoGP                    2:02.225

15                   BAUTISTA, Alvaro      Factory Aprilia Gresini                   2:02.285

16                   AOYAMA, Hiroshi       HRC                                                    2:02.560

17                   HAYDEN, Nicky          Drive M7 Aspar                                 2:02.699

18                   BARBERA, Hector       Avintia Racing                                 2:02.700

19                   MILLER, Jack  CWM LCR Honda                                       2:02.807

20                   NAKASUGA, Katsuyuki Yamaha Factory Test Team      2:03.092

21                   VIÑALES, Maverick    Team Suzuki MotoGP                    2:03.164

22                   LAVERTY, Eugene     Drive M7 Aspar                               2:03.295

23                   DI MEGLIO, Mike       Avintia Racing                               2:03.878

24                   ABRAHAM, Karel       AB Motoracing                               2:03.879

25                   BAZ, Loris       Forward Racing Team                                2:04.163

26                   MELANDRI, Marco     Factory Aprilia Gresini               2:04.502

27                   DE ANGELIS, Alex      Octo Ioda Racing Team               2:04.673

28                   TAKAHASHI, Takumi HRC                                                2:04.719

29                   TSUDA, Takuya          Team Suzuki MotoGP                   2:05.478

30                   LAVERTY, Michael     Aprilia Test Team                         2:06.190

No more articles